What does MetaShare do when creating workspaces?

When you create MetaShare workspace, these are the steps that automatically are done by MetaShare’s provisioning engine:

  1. The workspace is created (a SharePoint site collection), based on SharePoint’s “Team site” template, and its URL is set to the value of the workspace creation form’s “SharePoint URL” field.
  2. The site’s title is set to the value of the workspace creation form’s “Name” field. If the workspace’s name later is modified, the site’s title will also be updated accordingly.
  3. The site’s time zone is set to the selected value in the workspace creation form’s “Time zone” field.
  4. All custom workspace metadata, in the workspace creation form, are saved as page properties on the site’s default page.
  5. A custom permission level called “Administrate” is created in the workspace and the site’s Owners group is assigned this permission.
  6. The person that creates the workspace is added to the workspace’s Owner group.
  7. The workspace’s document library is defined to use content type(s) and the content types, defined in the workspace’s configuration, are attached to the workspace’s document library. If new content types later are added to the workspace’s configuration, these will automatically also be attached to the workspace’s document library.
  8. When the workspace creation is completed an e-mail is sent to the user that created the workspace, with a direct link to the MetaShare workspace:
    Workspace creation confirmation
  9. Once SharePoint search has crawled and indexed the newly created workspace it will appear in the list of workspaces, in MetaShare’s start page, for the users that have access to it.
  10. When users open the workspace, it will now have the filters, columns and suggested templates/document types, as defined by the workspace’s configuration.